Setting up Camp

“Start walking towards the sun. Your legs will get heavy and tired. Then comes a moment of feeling the wings you have grown, lifting.”                                                                

-Rumi

 

We left Colorado in a haze of green, with the aroma of fresh rain and lilac. We left our cozy house, car, and our comfort. Putting one foot forward we walked away, climbed into the Tacoma brimming with boxes and bags, and moved to the desert.

This narrative is an attempt to stay current and is an expression of our hope of a continued and ongoing dialog with our friends and family. We left a strong community, a company of friends that constantly sharped us and brought life to us. We moved away from great minds and thinkers who challenged our perspective on life and pushed us forward in this journey.

Upon our moving, the scope of our community was narrowed drastically. It is not that we lost friends or that we are no longer a part of of these lives, only that we are away from the daily contact. With the distance comes a bit of loss. We lose the idiosyncrasies of your expressions and the unique inflections of your voices and the movements of your hands in conversation. These invaluable qualities are impossible to recreate over the flat life of the internet, the blind conversations on the phone, or the vain attempts of blogs and emails.

How rich it is so sit with a friend, break bread and share life! This endeavor, this blog, is only a venue to aid in our face-to-face reconnection so that when we are able to sit together again, we can navigate more quickly through the “what have you been up to”, the mundane chat, and towards the things that matter. So, we invite you to share with us your thoughts and perspectives, we invite you to engage with us and bring your heart and mind to this table as we learn to live life in Mexico.

All our Love,

Matt and Misty

Creel, MX

10 Responses to “Setting up Camp”

  1. Betsy Friedersdorf Says:

    Hi Matt & Misty,
    Thanks so much for sending your blog link along to us. I’m so happy to read that you are doing well and I’ll look forward to reading more as time goes on. You are in my thoughts and daily prayers. In Christ’s Love, Betsy

  2. Matt Toth Says:

    Matt & Misty,
    Dang, I definitely feel a deep connection to your radical move. I knew this was going to be tough but I didn’t anticipate it coming this fast. You two are so key in the Father firing Ang & I up and His desire of walking a steady path of hope and life. You obvisouly remain as that in our life but its quit the adjustment having you 11 hrs south. All that to say I love your blog and absolutly love your poetic style and clarity. Know that so many of your friends could have their own blogs devoted to adjusting to life with the Father without Matt & Misty – With tears in my eyes – Man – you two are so missed! -Toth

  3. Matt & Misty,

    It saddens me that I have not had the opportunity to get to know you guys better. But from the brief interludes of our friendship, I can only say…I love you guys. You are an inspiration (not only spiritually) but in your walk through an otherwise convoluted world. Continue to embrace the journey, for it is not only your journey but ours as well.

  4. All I know is I miss your beautiful and true spirits. I wish I could just hug your necks. I love you both immensely. BTW sorry about the call, I was in Tejas myself in 107 degrees with 100% humidity— Yuck!!! Anyway I didn’t get your message until you were back across the border.
    Miguel Pinkstono

  5. Steve Eriksen Says:

    Hi Matt & Misty,
    Thanks for the link to the blog. I am praying for you guys and for Juan and Carmen. Thanks for sayingys to the Father … He is pleased. I will see you both next weekend and I am praying for the board meeeting.
    Love you guys,
    Steve

  6. I am so excited to be with you guys in March, the Lord is on the move here and folks are getting stocked about our time together. You are in our prayers. Blessings.

  7. Matt & Misty,
    We send you our love and best wishes for all you do. We miss you and look forward to seeing you this Dec.
    R&B

  8. Misty's Mom Says:

    Misty and Matt, I am getting more educated about this blog technology, thanks to you. I have never had enough incentive before to investigate it. But now I can see it is going to become a habit, yes, I guess perhaps a passion. As you said, this will be a way to keep updated with what is in your hearts and the things you experience.

    You are just across the river, but I doubt very few of your family and friends understand you are in such a different world, a really “foreign” world to most of us, as well as you.

    Yes, it probably does seem like setting up camp. When we who dwell in our scrubbed clean and sanitized homes in the great USA take the risk to go on a camping trip, we find out the toddlers will not get sick or die from exposure to the dirt all around the campsite. In fact there is a chance of becoming more healthy –from things like, fresh air, sunshine, excercise, relaxation, and inspiration. We may even come to love that life, that camping life, free of so many of the expensive trappings and “important” things to do back home, in our other world.

    Matt and Misty you have an awsome opportunity to sit as it were between two worlds, two cultures, as you travel back and forth from Mexico to the USA. As you then compare the cultures continually, you will have a prime opportunity to help each culture understand the other and enable them to better work together and minister to each other. Please share with us as many of your thoughts and experiences as you can so we can know how to better partner with you in your journey.

    Love and prayers,

    Mom

  9. God has told us to be as wise as serpents and as harmless as doves. The serpent is near, in every life.

    I am reminded of something that happened last week after I had been asking God to give me something encouraging to say to you guys. I did not know if God was trying to tell me something or not, but I was not sure I was “getting it”.

    Now I think I know; perhaps it was for you–my observation in the park. I was walking across a narrow bridge near where children were playing on the playground. I saw something red in the very shallow water below sitting against the edge of the bank. At first, I thought it was a red ball, but no, it was a very delicate red balloon that did not float away or pop. I thought, maybe some child will come down the bank and get that pretty red balloon.

    Only a few seconds later, I saw a big brown muticolored snake slivering along in the water only a few feet away from the balloon. It was probably about four feet long. I warned someone who was sitting on the other side of the bank.

    Keep ever diligent and remember not to ever let each other get distracted by the pretty, shiny things around or within. The evil one could lurk under the next rock, around the next corner, or within the next person. Take time to observe carefully and prayerfully a situation before you make a move.

    Learn what this means in your daily lives: be as wise as a serpent and as harmless as a dove.

    Love and prayers,

    Mom

  10. Kiery,

    It is wonderful to have your words, wisdom, and life baking us up. Thanks for always being an open heart and ear to us. Your thoughts and prayers are more valuable that pure gold. Thanks for showering us with love and care. You have blessed us and we are overjoyed to get to have you in our lives. Know that it means so much to us to have your comments and words. We really dig what you have to say!

Leave a Reply

